News and Events
back to top

News and Events


Friends of Saint Paul College Scholarship Gala
The Fourth Annual Scholarship Gala, which raised $60,000 for scholarships for students at Saint Paul College, was held on Friday, December 5, 2014. Highlights included a performance by the Saint Paul College Choir, a Silent Auction, delicious culinary creations from Saint Paul College’s chefs-in-training, and inspiring speeches. Many thanks to all who attended this event and contributed to our scholarship fund for students. And special thanks to our generous sponsors of this gala event.

We’re pleased to share this video with you of highlights from the 2014 Friends of Saint Paul College Scholarship Gala:  

Wall of Fame 2014
On Thursday, April 17, 2014, nearly two hundred friends and supporters of Saint Paul College gathered to celebrate the 2014 Wall of Fame event, recognizing an alumnus and also a community partner who have made outstanding contributions to the success of the College. Mayor Chris Coleman was the keynote speaker. Nathaniel Khaliq, a community activist, business owner, former NAACP-Saint Paul Branch president, retired Saint Paul fire fighter and former Saint Paul City Council interim councilman received the Alumnus of the Year Award. The Community Partner of the Year Award was presented to the International Institute of Minnesota. Jane Graupman, Executive Director, accepted the award on behalf of the Institute. The International Institute of Minnesota and Saint Paul College have successfully collaborated on programs that celebrate our shared values. The mission of the International Institute is to help New Americans achieve self-sufficiency and full membership in American life.

View highlights of the 2014 Saint Paul College Wall of Fame video

2014 President’s Scholarship Recipients
Established by President Dastmozd in April 2013, the President’s Scholarship is awarded each year to Saint Paul College students who have achieved academic excellence, are graduating with an Associate Degree, and transferring to a 4-year college or university. Additional required criteria to be met by the students includes displaying leadership capabilities, being involved in extracurricular activities, and having to overcome hardship. The 2014 President’s Scholarship recipients are Leena Jamaleddin and Marco Rodiles. Leena graduated with High Distinction with an Associate in Arts degree and also received the 2014 Outstanding Student Award for Science from the STEM division. Her future plans include getting her bachelor’s degree with a major in biology/premed and then going on to medical school. Marco graduated with High Distinction with an Associate in Arts degree. His future plans include getting his bachelor’s degree with a major in finance and accounting, and from there going to law school.